Alfa250The ALFA Programme is a programme of cooperation between Higher Education Institutions in the European Union and in Latin America.

The participating countries are the Member States of the European Union and the following 18 Latin American countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The general goal of the programme is to contribute to the development of higher education in Latin America by means of cooperation between EU and Latin American countries, in order to contribute to the economic and social development of the region in general and to a more balanced and equitable overall development of Latin American society in particular.

Actions will include joint projects that encourage work experience exchanges between European and Latin American Higher Education Institutions and the implementation of structural measures related to the reform of higher education systems in Latin America.